Fri, Jan 24, 2020
Benton County Iowa

Section Navigation

Meet our Staff

The Benton County Attorney is assisted by two Assistant County Attorneys and five full-time and one part-time Support Staff which include three Victim Witness Coordinators and two Collections Paralegals.


David C. Thompson has held the office of Benton County Attorney since January 1, 1999.  In addition to criminal prosecutions, David handles all county civil matters and oversees both the Main and Collection Offices.

Timothy W. Dille joined the office in September of 2019 as First Assistant Benton County Attorney and primarily handles District Court but also assists with Juvenile matters and Magistrate Court .

Kelly Smith joined our office in April of 2017 as an Assistant Benton County Attorney.  She primarily handles Juvenile matters and Magistrate Court.


Mary Ann Blumer worked in the Main Office for 21 years as Office Manager before retiring in  2010.  In December of 2013 she returned to the Main Office as a permanent part-time employee and assists as needed.

Deb Fleming began working in the Main Office in December of 2005.  In October of 2014 she began working in the Collections Office and has since become the Collections Manager.  In addition to her collections duties, she also oversees probation issues for the Main Office.

Ed Watts has been working in the Collections Office since November of 2013 and in addition to working with collections, he is the main contact regarding our collection program for room and board fees for the Benton County Jail.

Lori Siela began working in the Main Office in February of 2015.

JoAnne Morenz began working part-time in the Main Office in February of 2016.  In January of 2017, she took a full-time job outside of our office but continues to fill in as needed.

Rosemary Schwartz began working in the Main Office in August of 2019.

Victim Right's Coordinators

In addition to their other duties, Deb Fleming and Lori Siela also serve as Victim Right's Coordinators.