Fri, Feb 21, 2020
Benton County Iowa

Section Navigation

"Naturally Inspiring" our residents

Our Mission: Benton County Conservation strives to improve the quality of life for our citizens by providing recreational and educational opportunities that foster stewardship of our natural resources. 


For the benefit of the public, the Benton County Conservation Board manages: 22 park lands equaling over 1700 acres, over 40 miles of trails, 225 campsites, a growing nature center, and offers high-quality educational programming in and out of the schools for over 20,000 educational contacts annually. We invite you to enjoy our quiet and serene natural areas, hiking and river trails, and campgrounds that offer outstanding recreational opportunities.

Benton County Conservation Department - Staff




Zach Parmater, Conservation Tech./Ranger


Aaron Askelson

Aaron Askelson, Naturalist


karen phelps

Karen Phelps, Director     


Shelby Williams, Conservation Tech

Shelby Williams, Conservation Tech


Scott Bahmann

Scott Bahmann, Park Ranger 


Collin Strickland

Collin Strickland, Park Ranger  



Jon Geiger, Park Ranger   


Chapter 350 of the Code of Iowa states:

The Benton County Conservation Board's duty is to serve the residents of Benton County.  The Conservation Board consists of five county residents appointed by the Board of Supervisors. 


In 1955, the Iowa State Legislature passed a law providing for the creation of county conservation boards. In 1956, public vote of Benton County residents authorized the creation of the Benton County Conservation Board. The BCCB was one of sixteen counties in Iowa to make a conservation board that year.  The Benton County Conservation Board (BCCB) has been working on preserving Iowa’s natural heritage since that day. The BCCB built the first man made lake by a county conservation department in the state of Iowa, "Hannen Lake.” These properties include bike and hiking trails, preserves, boat ramps, and campground facilities.

Regularly Scheduled Meetings:

Monthly meetings are held in the board meeting room of the Benton County Nature Center. Board meetings are regularly scheduled for the second Monday of each month, at 5:30 p.m. Other meetings are called as needed. Meetings are open to the public, and public notice is given for all meetings.       

Benton County Conservation Board


Randy Scheel by Garrison, Iowa

Daniel Gibbins by Urbana

Daniel Gibbins by Urbana, Iowa


Dan Hill by Vinton, Iowa


Denni Randall by Belle Plaine, Iowa

 Tracy Seeman - Board of Supervisor (liaison)