Fri, Feb 21, 2020
Benton County Iowa

Section Navigation

Board of Supervisors

Regularly Scheduled Meetings:

-Tuesdays at 9:00 AM

Board of Supervisors' Room at the Courthouse (Second floor, East side).

Items to be placed on the Boards agenda should be submitted to the Auditor's office by 8:30 AM on Monday.

An agenda of each meeting is posted on the bulletin board on the first floor outside of the Treasurer's office. 

Board of Supervisor District Map


The Board of Supervisors oversees:

- Budget appropriations for all areas of county government

- Fiscal policy

- Health and social service needs for Benton County

- Land use planning

- Roads

- Information Technology services 

Benton County elects three members to its board who serve staggered, four-year terms. Two seats are open in presidential election years and one seat is open in gubernatorial election years.

Boards of Supervisors board/commission appointments:

  • Tracy Seeman
    • REAP
    • Area Substance Abuse Council (ASAC)
    • Eastern IA Tourism-alternate
    • Emergency Management-Board appointed
    • Conservation Ex-Officio
    • Solid Waste Commission-alternate
    • Heartland Insurance Risk Pool
    • East Central Iowa Council of Governments-Board appointed
  • Rick Primmer
    • Eastern IA Tourism-alternate
    • Solid Waste Commission-alternate
    • Emergency Management-alternate
    • HACAP-Regional
    • HACAP-North Benton Family Resource
    • Sixth Judicial Department of Corrections
    • Central IA Juvenile Detention
  • Gary Bierschenk
    • Regional Mental Health
    • Iowa Work force Development
    • Public Health Board-ex. officio
    • Solid Waste Commission-Board appointed
    • Central IA Juvenile Detention-alternate
    • Easter IA Tourism-Board appointed


Gary Bierschenk

Elected: Nov. 8, 2016

District 3
(319) 472-4869-Office
(319) 454-6488-Home
(319) 558-8153-Cell


Rick Primmer
Elected: Nov. 8, 2016

District 2
(319) 472-4869-Office
(319) 360-0055-Cell


Tracy Seeman
Elected: Nov. 6, 2018
District 1
(319) 472-4869-Office

(319) 981-5623-Cell