Menu
Fri, Dec 15, 2017
Benton County Iowa

Section Navigation

Jail

Jail Information- 319-472-2337, option 2

Visitation hours:  
Monday thru Thursday   
2:00 p.m.  – 4:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Friday thru Sunday   1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

ALL visitors must have with them a Photo ID
NO more than 3 visitors are allowed at one time
VISITORS under the age of 18 must be accompanied by their Legal Guardian
VISITS are for 20 minutes, NO MORE than 3-20 minute visits per week, Sunday thru Saturday

USE OF ANY ELECTRONIC DEVICE DURING AN INMATE VISITATION IS PROHIBITED.   VIOLATION WILL RESULT IN LOSS OF VISITATION PRIVILEGES FOR THE INMATE.

Money can be left for inmates using the Stellar Teller machine in the front vestibule of the Benton County Sheriff’s Office or  Online at JailATM.com

Prepaid Phone Accounts can be set up for inmates by family or friends by calling Protocoll at 800-549-2121, 9:00 am to 6:00 p.m. Monday –Saturday.

Inmate mail should be sent to:    Benton County Jail, 113 East 3rd Street, Vinton, Iowa 52349.  Be aware photographs and greeting cards cannot be kept in an inmate’s cell.  Once viewed these would be stored in the inmate’s personal property.

Bonding Agencies: Click here

Bonding information: 

Simple Misdemeanor $300
Serious Misdemeanor $1,000
Driving While Suspended $566.25
Aggravated Misdemeanor $2,000
Class "D" Felony $5,000
Class "C" Felony $10,000
Class "B" Felony $25,000
Class "A" Felony No Bond
Domestic Abuse/No Contact Order Violation No Bond

Work Release
All Work Release inmates must complete and submit a Work Release Agreement and have it APPROVED by the sheriff.  {Download Work Release Agreement – printable version}

ALL FEES associated with work release time must be PAID IN ADVANCE.   The table below shows the minimum amount due for fees.  If you are serving a jail sentence for ANOTHER COUNTY fees may vary based on the Fee Schedule for the county in which you were sentenced.

Work Release Schedule (BENTON COUNTY SENTENCES)

8 Hours or Less $40/Day
8 Hours to 12 Hours $50/Day
Over 12 Hours $60/Day
Out of County Orders $60/Day


Court Ordered Jail time must be scheduled with the jail.  Call to schedule, find out fees, and what you should bring with you.

Fingerprinting – Contact jail staff for an appointment 319-472-2337, option 2.  $25.00 fee for out of county residents.  CASH ONLY PLEASE, EXACT CHANGE.

Alcohol testing for CDL’s is done by jail staff.