Menu
Fri, Dec 15, 2017
Benton County Iowa

Gun Permits

Gun Permits

ALWAYS apply at the Sheriff’s Office in the county in which you live.  Applications for carry permits and permits to purchase a handgun can be downloaded from the Iowa Department of Public Safety Website at : http://www.dps.state.ia.us/asd/weapon_permits.shtml .  There is also a Frequently Asked Questions page on this website that may be helpful to you.

Weapons Law Transition FAQ Click on link to view Frequently Asked Question from Department of Public Safety on new weapons law

DO NOT sign or date your application until you are actually at the sheriff's office to apply.  You must bring the completed application to the sheriff's office along with the following items  to apply:

For NEW CARRY Permits - Bring proof of completion of acceptable training within 24 months prior to application date (EXCEPT in case of current or former member of Armed Forces, in which case the person's military small arms training can have occurred at any time prior to the filing of the application),  Valid drivers license or ID with current address, $50.00 cash, exact change

For RENEWAL OF CARRY Permits – Application must be within 30 days prior to expiration of your current permit OR within 30 days after expiration of your current permit.  $25.00 fee, exact change.

IF OUTSIDE 60 day window $50.00 fee Applies. 

IF Applicant previously held permit with our office, no training required. 

Must bring Proof of residence ex: Valid Driver’s License or ID showing your CURRENT ADDRESS.  

If your CURRENT PERMIT IS EXPIRED you are not valid to carry until you receive the new permit.

If your original permit was not issued in Benton County we cannot issue a renewal.  We have to issue you a new permit at the $ 50.00 fee.  This may change in the future.  The state is working on a transfer process but there is nothing in place yet.

For LOST or DAMAGED permits - You must come to the office and complete a new application for a duplicate permit.  $25.00 fee, exact change.

If You Moved to Benton County from Another County -   ‚ÄčAt this time it is considered a new permit in Benton County.  It may change in the future.  The state is working on a transfer process but it is not in place yet.

For PURCHASE Permits - Bring your valid driver's license or ID showing your CURRENT ADDRESS and fill out application.  $25.00 fee, exact change. Purchase Permits issued after 7-1-17 will be valid for 5 years.

Recommended office hours are from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday thru Friday.  If you come outside those hours please exercise patience as dispatch staff will be helping you and they are required to answer phones and radio calls first. 

Please be advised that WE CANNOT PROCESS DEBIT OR CREDIT CARDS.  CASH PAYMENT is due at the time of service.  EXACT CHANGE

Application fees are non-refundable:  $50.00 NEW CARRY permit fee.  $25.00 RENEWAL CARRY permit fee. $25.00 DUPLICATE carry fee.  $25.00 for PURCHASE PERMIT fee.

ACCEPTIBLE FORMS OF TRAINING:

An NRA Certified Handgun Safety Course (WITHIN 24 months prior to application)

Any handgun safety course utilizing an NRA or State Law Enforcement Agency Certified instructor (WITHIN 24 months prior to application)

Any handgun safety training course offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of a law enforcement or security enforcement agency APRROVED by the Department of Public Safety.(WITHIN 24 monthsd prior to application)

If former member of Armed Forces, completion of small arms training while serving with the armed forces of the United States with Honorable Discharge or General Discharge under Honorable conditions(ANYTIME PRIOR TO APPLICATION)

If current member of Armed Forces, possession of a certificate of completion of basic training with a service record of successful completion of small arms training and qualification (ANY TIME PRIOR TO APPLICATION)

Completion of a law enforcement agency firearm safety training course that qualifies a peace officer to carry a firearm in the normal course of the peace officer's duties (WITHIN 24 months prior to application)

Completion of a hunter education program approved by the natural resource commission pursuant to section 483A.27, if the program includes handgun safety safety training and completion of the handgun safety training is included on the certificate of completion ( WITHIN 24 months prior to application).